IND vs IRE: 1st T20 Match Highlights

IND vs IRE: India wins their first T20 against Ireland with the DLS method, Bumrah, who returned after 327 days, named ‘Player of the Match…

Image Source: @BCCI

IND vs IRE T20 Highlights: In a rain-affected match, Team India clinched victory by two runs under the DLS method against Ireland. With this win, Team India has taken 1-0 lead

In the first match of the T20 series between India and Ireland, India secured victory by two runs under the DLS method. India has taken 1-0 lead. Ireland had set a score of 139/7 while batting first. Team India scored 47/2 in 6.5 overs. Subsequently, rain interrupted the game, and further play couldn’t take place. The umpires declared the Indian team as the winner under the DLS method.

In this match, two fast bowlers made a remarkable comeback for India. Jasprit Bumrah played a match for India after a gap of 11 months and took two wickets in the very first over.

Image Source : BCCI

IND vs IRE T20 Highlights: even though Krishna was playing his first international T20 match, his return was eagerly anticipated after his impressive performances in ODIs, and he also delivered a splendid performance by taking two wickets. Both fast bowlers were making a comeback to the field after surgery, and both of them displayed outstanding performances.

What happened in Ireland’s innings?

In this match, Ireland’s start to batting first was extremely poor. Indian captain Jasprit Bumrah, returning after 327 days, dismissed Andrew Balbirnie and Lorcan Tucker in the very first over, pushing Ireland onto the back foot. Following this, Krishna, the notable performer, sent Harry Tector and George Dockrell back to the pavilion. Bumrah and Krishna’s comeback for India had put Ireland on the defensive.

At 59 runs, Ireland had lost six wickets. Then, McBrine partnered with Campher to take the team’s score beyond 100 runs with a brisk partnership. Both of them scored runs quickly. Towards the end, Arshdeep cleanly bowled out Campher for 39 runs. However, McBrine continued to bat aggressively from the other end and scored his maiden T20 half-century. He scored an unbeaten 51 runs off 33 balls, taking the team’s score to 139/7.

In the last over, Arshdeep conceded 22 runs.

IND vs IRE: Arshdeep Singh bowled the final over in this match and conceded 22 runs. McBrine hit two sixes and a four against him. Arshdeep bowled a no-ball and a wide delivery in this over, which allowed Ireland’s team to reach a score of 139 runs. It was in the 17th over that Ireland had crossed the 100-run mark. After the 19th over, Ireland’s score was 117/7.

In this match, for India, Captain Jasprit Bumrah, notable Krishna, and Ravi Bishnoi each took two wickets. Arshdeep Singh took one wicket

In the first match, Prasidh took two wickets.

IND vs IRE: Bumrah took two wickets in the very first over of the match, disrupting Ireland’s start. Not only Bumrah, but also Krishna, who made a comeback after injury and played his first T20 international, displayed an impressive performance by taking two wickets. Even Krishna took a wicket in the first over. Despite this, thanks to McBrine’s unbeaten 51 runs, Ireland managed to score 139 runs for seven wickets in 20 overs. Bumrah gave away 24 runs and took two wickets. In the 19th over of the innings, he conceded only 1 run. Rinku Singh from Aligarh also made his debut in T20 international, although he didn’t get a chance to bat.

Campher-McBrine partnership adds 57 runs.
Ireland faced their fair share of difficulties. After the dismissals of Dockrell (1) and Mark Adair (16), Ireland was at 59 runs for the loss of six wickets. From there, Curtis Campher and Barry McBrine forged a partnership, adding 57 runs off 44 balls, pushing Ireland’s score beyond 100 runs. Arshdeep, with the help of three boundaries and a six off 33 balls, dismissed Campher for 39 runs, breaking the partnership. McBrine remained unbeaten, contributing 51 runs off 33 balls with the assistance of four boundaries and four sixes.

IND vs IRE: Yashasvi-Ruturaj provide a good start Chasing a target of 140 runs, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ruturaj Gaikwad provided India with a solid start. Both batsmen shared a partnership of 46 runs off 38 balls. However, Craig Young dismissed Yashasvi, who had scored 24 runs off 23 balls in his first over and followed it up by getting Tilak Varma (0) out on the next delivery. Gaikwad scored 19 runs off 16 balls, while Sanju Samson was unbeaten on 1 run when rain interrupted the game. Subsequent play couldn’t happen due to rain, and India secured the victory.

4 thoughts on “IND vs IRE: 1st T20 Match Highlights”

Leave a Comment